





FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Amy Lampe, Publicist

Date: May 30, 2011

Email: alampe@babson.edu Phone: 781-239-6678

NEIBA ANNOUNCES 2011 ALL-STAR GAME SELECTIONS AND SPECIAL RECOGNITION AWARD WINNERS

BABSON PARK, Mass. – The New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA) has announced that the 37th Annual NEIBA All-Star Game will take place on Thursday, June 2, 2011 at LeLacheur Park in Lowell, Massachusetts at 7pm. LeLacheur Park is home of the Lowell Spinners, a minor league team affiliated with the Boston Red Sox. The gate will open at 6pm and tickets will cost \$5. For directions and other information, please visit the official website of the Lowell Spinners at http://web.minorleaguebaseball.com/index.jsp?sid=t558.

Division I players from across the region will make up the University Division Team. The University of Connecticut, ranked #15 in the nation in the most recent Collegiate Baseball poll, tops the list with eight selections. The Huskies fell to Seton Hall this past Saturday in the Big East Championship game and are currently awaiting the announcement of the NCAA Tournament selections which will be released today. Sacred Heart received two selections after winning the second Northeast Conference title in school history last weekend. The Pioneers will enter the NCAA Tournament with 34 wins, the most in program history. Sacred Heart head coach Nick Giaquinto was selected the NEIBA Division I Coach of the Year for guiding the Pioneers to their most successful season in recent years.

The College Division Team is made up of 13 Division II standouts and 16 Division III seniors all-stars. Franklin Pierce has five players represented for the most selections of any school. Southern Connecticut State University has two selections, sophomore pitcher Chris Zbin and junior outfielder Kyle Rosadino, after winning the NCAA East Regional this past week. The Owls are currently in Carey, North Carolina where they will participate in the Division II College World Series this week. The Division III group features seniors from the top teams in New England including NEIBA Player of the Year Jim Schult from Eastern Connecticut State University. Tufts University has three players participating, the most of any Division III school, including Ed Bernstein, the 2011 NEIBA Pitcher of the Year. The 2011 NCAA New England Regional Tournament winners, Western New England College, received two selections including Ryan Dudzinski and Matt Rogers who are competing in the Division III College World Series this week in Appleton, Wisconsin.

Prior to the start of the All-Star Game, NEIBA will recognize some outstanding contributors to New England collegiate baseball. Each year the Jack Butterfield Award is presented to an active New England coach who exhibits integrity and dedication to the game of college baseball that Coach Butterfield demonstrated throughout his career. This year's recipient is **John Slosar**, the current head coach at Fairfield University. Slosar has been a coach in New England for over 30 years and is retiring after amassing 491 victories in 27 seasons.

The Kevin Burr Assistant Coach Award is presented each year to an active New England assistant coach who exhibits the integrity and dedication to the game of college baseball that Coach Burr demonstrated throughout his career. **Marty Testo** of Keene State College is this year's recipient. Testo has been an assistant coach with the Keene State College baseball team for 10 seasons. He was named the Associate Head Coach in 2008 and has been working with the pitching staff for the past six years. In his time at Keene State he has developed one of the premier pitching staffs in all of New England Division III Baseball.

Paul Sweeney and Harry Ayotte will both be honored as they have been selected as the recipients of the Andy Baylock Distinguished Service Award. This award is given each year to a person who has significantly contributed to the betterment of New England College Baseball. Paul Sweeney, the current Sports Information Director at Tufts University, served as the NEIBA publicist for 14 years. He spent countless hours running the weekly NEIBA poll and organizing the All-Star Game each spring. His contributions to the organization are immeasurable. Harry Ayotte was a long-time coach and general manager who passed away this past April at the age of 75 after a hard-fought battle with cancer. He was most known as the founding father of the New England Collegiate Baseball League (NECBL) and as the owner and general manager of the NECBL team, Mill City/Lowell All-Americans from 1999-2010. He began his coaching career in the 1960's and coached both baseball and football at all levels. During his career he coached more than 4,000 games. NEIBA would like to recognize him for his endless contributions to New England baseball, he will be truly missed.







2011 NEIBA ALL-STAR TEAMS

UNIVERSITY DIVISION TEAM

COLLEGE DIVISION TEAM

Division I All-Stars

1st Team Selections

C - Chris O'Dowd, SO, Dartmouth

1B - Tom Coulombe, SR, Rhode Island

2B - Tucker Nathans, SR, Fairfield

3B – Matt Gedman, SR, UMass

SS - Nick Ahmen, JR, UConn

OF - George Springer, JR, UConn

OF – Nick Ciardiello, SR, Holy Cross

OF – J.J. Edwards, SR, Sacred Heart

DH - Ennis Coble, SO, Dartmouth

P - Matt Barnes, JR, Uconn

P - Greg Nappo, SR, UConn

P – Keith Bilodeau, JR, Maine

P – Kevin Vance, JR, UConn

2nd Team Selections

C - Doug Elliot, SR, UConn

1B - Mike Nemeth, SR, UConn

2B - L.J. Mazzilli, SO, UConn

3B - Mitch Wells, JR, Central Connecticut

SS – Joe Sclafani, JR, Dartmouth

OF - Kyle Borden, SR, Rhode Island

OF - Aaron Barbosa, FR, Northeastern

OF - Greg Annarummo, JR, Rhode Island

DH - Jeff Cammans, JR, Rhode Island

P – John Pedrotty, JR, Holy Cross

P – Troy Scribner, SO, Sacred Heart

P – Stephen Peterson, SR, Rhode Island

P - Vinny Lally, SR, Yale

P – John Colella, SO, Holy Cross

Division II All-Stars

C - Mike Dowd, JR, Franklin Pierce

1B -Robert Kelly, SO, Saint Anselm

2B - Dan Hennigan, JR, Franklin Pierce

3B - Matt Boulter, SO, Southern New Hampshire

SS – Cam Kneeland, JR, UMass Lowell

OF - Wally Derosier, SR, Assumption

OF - Kyle Rosadino, SR, Southern Connecticut

DH - Derek Ingui, SR, Franklin Pierce

UT - Michael White, JR, Stonehill

P – Brian Maloney, SR, Franklin Pierce

P - Ryan Thompson, SO, Franklin Pierce

P - Chris Zbin, JR, Southern Connecticut

P - Mitch Rossi, SR, New Haven

Division III Senior All-Stars

C – Tyler DiPrato, SR, Keene State

1B - Mike Eaton, SR, Southern Maine

2B - Ryan Walsh, SR, UMass Boston

3B - Corey McDonald, SR, Worcester State

SS - John Phelan, SR, Fitchburg State

OF – Bobby Doyon, SR, Keene State

OF - Dave Orlowitz, SR, Tufts

OF – Rob Perry, SR, Eastern Connecticut

OF - Todd Keneborus, SR, Saint Joseph's

UT – Jim Schult, SR, Eastern Connecticut

UT – David Ahern, SR, Babson

DH – Ryan Dudzinski, SR, Western New England

P – Ed Bernstein, SR, Tufts

P - Matt Rogers, SR, Western New England

P – Ryan Healy, SR, Amherst

P - Derek Miller, SR, Tufts